It’s my birthday

And I can’t move
Sitting in the bathtub
Just trying to muster some strength
To deal with the day
And hold back the tears

I can’t imagine how I can do another year
In this awful place
I feel so trapped
And displaced

My heart is longing for music
The sound of a brass horn
The stench of the street
Cocktails at any hour
Tarot readers shuffling cards
Art on the sidewalk
Riverboats on the Mississippi
Red beans and rice on Monday
Morning fog so thick
You know the spirits are around

Not this place
Barren and boring
Yellow and grey
Hateful and hollow
I am disappointed in God’s humor
As to stick me here

Leave a Reply

